Past Presidents

Past Presidents

2018(?- ) Marlene Odebraski KK6CTX
2018 (Jan-Feb) Duane Allen KK6EE
2017 Marlene Odebraski KK6CTX
2015-2016 Ron Braley KE6RYX
2012-2014 Chris Maness KQ6UP
2011 Jim Wiley AG6EA
2010 Bob Trujillo KG6NIB
2008-2009 Chris Maness KQ6UP
2007 Ric Maxfield N6RIC
2005-2006 Bob Wade W6RTW
2002-2004 Fred Roberts W6TKV
2002-2004 Don Williams KD6UVT
2000-2001 George Ashby W6RPD
1998-1999 Robert Randleman N6CEU
1997 Ted Hudson KQ6U
1996 Art Sutorus KQ6HF
1995 Jerry VerDuft AD0A
1994 David Tate N7IGO
1993 Rich Harwick AB4AW
1992 Nick Schmitz N6UUL
1991 Steve Rathbone KF6ZH
1990 (Aug-Dec) Steve Rathbone KF6ZH
1990  (Jan-Jul) Mike Burton N6KZB
1988-1989 Chuck Peck KN6U
1987 John Thomas WA6QMW
1985-1986 John Graf AH6CL
1984 Bill DeChastain N6AIX
1983 Al Nagle KA6TUO
1982 Don Young KZ6U
1981 Lee Owens WD6DGI
1980 Lois Goodine WB6PLR
1979 Richard W. Birbeck K6CID
1978 Larry Botimer/Allen Sonin WA6NVN/WA6URG
1977 Phil Blank WB6HKX
1976 Barrie Britton W6DX
1975 Robert Mann W6LKN
1974 Richard Cupp K6SJA
1973 Don Fox K5BBM/6
1972 Reed C. Easton K6VHP
1971 Richard Cupp K6SJA
1969-1970 Dave Smith WB6SFA
1968(Feb-Dec) Bob Tremaine W6KCD
1968(Jan) Ian Hayes VE2ATU
1967 Bob Rice WA6GOX
1966(Sep-Dec) Michael Desautel W6ECD
1966(Jan-Aug) Neil Bacot WA6QVR
1965 Patrick Murphy WB6LOX
1964 Tom Bridges K6DLY
1963 Bob Rice WA6GOX
1962 Al Summers        ?
1961 Paul Hudson WA6AVJ
1959-1960 Hal Dunagan W6THD
1958-1959 Mark Conway K6GUK
1957-1958 Adrian McCrosky KB1D
1956-1957 Hal Cooper W6PFU
1955 Ed Wellborn W6JXM


Field Day 2018

Thanks to everyone who joined us for Field Day 2018!  Here are some of the highlights from the event:


Videos from FaceBook:

Riverside County Amateur Radio Association Field Day 2018

A short video of some of our Field Day 2018 happenings … courtesy of Mathew and his photography skills. More to come when I get organized. Enjoy!

Posted by Riverside County Amateur Radio Association – RCARA Page on Tuesday, June 26, 2018

RCARA Field Day 2018

It was a good Field Day.

Posted by Art Sutorus on Thursday, June 28, 2018

Please enjoy the slideshow of pictures from the event:



Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events

  • OCT  27 – Gear in The ParkRyan Bonamino Park (click for map) (organized by EMCOMM Group) (further details will be forthcoming)
    • Go Bag named individuals to be announced:
    • N6LMA, Carrie, Alternative Go Bag example
    • K9LMR, Dave, EDGAR display and HF station
    • NRA, Refuse to be a Victim booth
    • ARES:  TBD
    • RACES:  TBD
    • RCARA:  TBD
    • Others:  TBD
    • Potluck style share?  (We need a coordinator)
  • November 3 – RCARA Picnic & BBQ:  1:00 PM to 5:00 PM at the Villa Magnolia Senior Mobile Home Park, 3500 Buchanan St. Riverside, CA 92503 (click for map)
  • November 14 – Riverside CERT/Fire Department and Neighbors Communication Exercise 1800-2000.  (organized by the EMCOMM Group)  (details when available)
  • January 26 & 27 2019 – Winter Field Day:

Recurring Events

  • RCARA Club Meeting: The 2nd Thursday of each month at 7 PM
    in the La Sierra University Seventh Day Adventist Church
    Fellowship Hall, 4937 Sierra Vista Avenue, Riverside, CA.
  • RCARA Board Meeting: The 2nd Thursday of each month at 6
    PM before the General Monthly Club Meeting. Everyone is
  • Weekly West Coast Swap Meet On The Air. Every Saturday and
    Sunday from approximately 1200 – 1500 hours local on 7240
  • Monthly: El Cajon ARC Swap Meet is held the first Saturday of
    each month at the Santee Drive-In Theater on Woodside Ave. at
    Hwy 67 in Santee, CA, starting at 6am, talk-in 146.52, Buyers 50
  • Monthly: TRW ARC Swap Meet is held the last Saturday of each
    month (rain or shine) from 7 AM to 11:30 AM at the Northrop
    Grumman facility on the southeast corner of Aviation Blvd and
    Marine Ave in Redondo Beach, CA . The prices for sellers vary
    and buyers are free. More information is available on the
    W6TRW website at:


The Monitor Newsletter








“The Monitor” is the newsletter for the Riverside County Amateur Radio Association.

The Monitor 2017

Old Timers Honor Roll 2018

Current RCARA members licensed for more than 50 years. Years licensed are indicated..


John Colombo K7QPC – 50 Charles Hotchkiss WA6WQD – 54 Bruce Jones WA6ST – 55
Howard Elovitz W6FL – 59 John Taylor W6KEE – 61 Barry Ferguson N6SY – 64
Duane Allen KK6EE – 66

Current RCARA members licensed for more than 25 years. Years licensed are indicated.


Don Williams KD6UVT – 25 Jim Wiley AG6EA – 25 Margaret Albanese KC6UDH – 26
Art Sutorus AA6CA – 26 Phil Albanese KJ6KE/AE – 30 Ricardo Golden NI6AU – 32
Charles Cauthen KA6JAZ – 34 Jeff Lloyd N6FRW – 37  Larry Junker WA6PMY – 39
Bil Seymour WA6MOD 46 David Koss KI6WJN – 48

Last updated 7/16/2018

LEJO Perpetual Award

History of the LEJO Perpetual Award. The Award is presented each year for exceptional, dedicated and/or accidental service to the amateur community. The handcrafted 10-pound iron keyer was the original idea of Lee Owens, WD6DGI(SK), in 1978. Lee, known for his ingenious handy work, presented the keyer to Joe Brown, W6UBQ(SK), while he was in the hospital recovering. Joe was so impressed with the novelty of the keyer, he decided to present it to the club as a perpetual trophy for others to enjoy. Hence, the LE (for Lee) JO (for Joe) award was conceived.


Selection Criteria. Criteria for the award includes: being an active member in the association; activity must have been unusual, unique or unpredictable; recipient must agree to return this key to the club at years end and to be a member of the selection committee for the next recipient; recipient shall be an average person, like the rest of us, who may have been at the wrong place at the right time or vice versa and agrees to bring the award key to each club meeting for use by the presiding officer as a gavel.

Selection Committee. The selection committee consists of the W6TJ Trustee, the Club President, and the Previous Year Recipient.

2017 Art Sutorus AA6CA
2016  Jeff Hannold  KW6MOT
2015  Butch Dimery  KI6ZKP
2014 Jim Wiley AG6EA
2013  No Award
2012  No Award
2011 Tom Whelchel WA6TLL
2010 Ed Morgan KF6BNQ
2009 Damon Jones KI6HPV
2008 Bil Seymour WA6MOD
2007 Paul Matthews WA6DDL
2006 Justin Nelson AE6YD
2005 Don Williams KD6UVT
2004 Larry Jensen KD6TPU
2003 E. E. “Van” Van Noty AA6SD
2002 Bill Hering N6WMH
2001 Steve Evans KF6BNP
2000 Dorothy Anderson K5JWU
1999 Mark Conway K6GUK
1998 Dean Chambers KG6YS
1997 Clair Cessna K6LG
1996 Rich Harwick AB4AW
1995 Cliff Lundquist W6NSN
1994 Frank Vanderpoel K6UIZ
1993 Cornelius Walker W6KXN
1992 Betty Ann Merrill KC6ING
1991 Dave Thompson N6ZNT
1990 Lee Brown N6HGT
1989 Jeff Lloyd N6FRW
1988 Joe Lamb KA6ABL
1987 Chuck Peck KN6U
1986 Ken Andrews KF6QR
1985 Maurice Elmore KA6ABB
1984 Lee Owens WD6DGI
1983 Bob Lyon N6AUI
1982 John Thomas WA6QMW
1981 Jim Henderson K6JAD
1980 Frank Johnson W6KIJ
1979 Bob Mann W6LKN
1978 Joe Brown W6UBQ

Harry Crawford W6TJ Memorial Award

The Crawford Award recognizes a member who has displayed outstanding and exemplary service to the amateur radio community throughout the year.

2017 Ted Stough KM6AYC
2016 Larry Junker WA6PMY
2015 Jim Weaver AG6JN
2014 Marlene Odebralski KK6CTX
2013 No Award
2012 No Award
2011 Jim & Liz Anthony AD6FR & AD6JF
2010 Bob Trujillo KG6NIB
2009 Ric Maxfield N6RIC
2008 Chris Maness KQ6UP
2007 Arlo Myers WA6UDR
2006 Bob Wade W6RTW
2005 Tony & Vivian Blackwood KE6RUT &  KF6GZK
2004 Don Williams KD6UVT
2003 Frank Vanderpoel K6UIZ
2002 Art Sutorus KQ6HF
2001 Ron Braley KE6RYX
2000 Clair Cessna K6LG
1999 Steve Evans KF6BNP
1998 Betty Ann Merrill KC6ING
1997 Fred Roberts W6TKV
1996 Ted Hudson KQ6U
1995 Robert Randleman N6CEU